Betfair Chase Betting 2022

Last Updated 12 Jan 2022 | Commercial content | 18+

The Betfair Chase betting always kicks into gear during November each season, as the Haydock Park race draws near.

Run over 3m 1 1/2f, the Haydock Betfair Chase is a Grade One Chase that is billed as an early-season guide to other big staying chasers like King George VI Chase on Boxing day and the Cheltenham Gold Cup, run in March. If you want more information about the famous horse racing events to bet on, read our page dedicated to horse racing betting.

The Betfair Chase 2022 will be staged on Saturday 19th November.

Betfair Chase Odds

Many bookmakers will price up the Betfair Chase odds during October and early November in their ante-post sections – with the race always run around the third week of November.

Once the final Betfair Chase runners are announced (2 days before the race), you can expect to see then Befair Chase odds become more popular with horse racing punters, with more Betfair Chase tips and thoughts in the news.

In recent years, big stables like Colin Tizzard, Paul Nicholls and Nigel Twiston-Davies have targeted the race with a lot of success – between the trio they’ve trained the winner of the Betfair Chase in ALL of the last eleven renewals.

With that in mind, you can expect any horses that are trained by Paul Nicholls, Nigel Twiston-Davies or Colin Tizzard to be popular in the Betfair Chase odds betting markets.

In fact, since the race was first run back in 2005, there have only been two other trainers (Robert Alner and Peter Bowen) who have won the race barring Nicholls, Tizzard and Twiston-Davies.

The more seasoned horse racing fans might also be surprised to know that the Betfair Chase is so far a race that top National Hunt trainer – Nicky Henderson – is yet to win despite having many top-class staying chases over the years.

Betfair Chase Runners

The Haydock Betfair Chase is a relatively new race – it’s only been staged 16 times.

However, during the short Betfair Chase history, there have been many returning Betfair Chase winners trying to defend their crowns.

In recent years some successful Betfair Chase runners – like Kauto Star, Silviniaco Conti, Cue Card and Bristol De Mai are all past Haydock Betfair Chase winners that have won the race more than once.

In fact, in the last 16 years, the winner has been a past Betfair Chase winner of the race a massive seven times!

The 2019 Betfair Chase winner was the Colin Tizzard-trained Lostintranslation and with time on his side then he could easily have the Betfair Chase on his radar again in 2022. This 8 year-old is already figuring highly in many Betfair Chase betting markets.

The Betfair Chase 2020 winner, 2019 runner-up and winner in 2017 and 2018 – Bristol De Mai – is another popular horse in this race and if running again in 2022 is sure to figure prominently in the Betfair Chase betting market. He’s trained by the already mentioned Nigel Twiston-Davies, who has won the Betfair Chase three times.

Clan Des Obeaux could take in the Betfair Chase in the build-up to defending his King George title in December and if he does he’ll certainly be one of the more popular Betfair Chase runners with punters. He handles most ground too but those against him might look to his 2018 run in this race when he trailed in fourth of five behind Bristol De Mai. However, he’s clearly a much better horse now and was only rated 157 when running in the 2018 Betfair Chase – he’s now off a mark well into the 170’s!

Betfair Chase Tips

You can expect to see plenty of Betfair Chase tips in the build-up to the race. However, with a staggering 14 Betfair Chase winners between them in the last 16 renewals, the trainers Paul Nichols, Colin Tizzard and Nigel Twiston-Davies horses are always worth noting in the Betfair Chase betting market.

All three of these trainers are expected to be well-represented again in the 2022 Betfair Chase.

The Betfair Chase has also been a race that’s slightly favoured the younger horses – 12 of the last 16 Betfair Chase winners were aged 9 or younger, plus another Betfair Chase tip is to side with the Betfair Chase favourite – 7 of the last 15 (47%) Betfair Chase market leaders have won the race.

The Haydock Betfair Chase has only been run sixteen times, but there are already some notably Betfair Chase trends building up.

We’ve already mentioned the excellent Betfair Chase record of trainers Paul Nichols, Colin Tizzard and Nigel Twiston-Davies. Other key Betfair Chase trends to note are that 12 of the last 15 Betfair Chase winners had raced in the last 4 weeks, plus were also placed in the top three in their last race.

Track form has also been key to the Betfair Chase in recent years – with 11 of the last 15 winners having raced at Haydock before, while 12 of the last 15 Betfair Chase winners have already one a Grade One chase.

You can see a list of all the past Betfair Chase winners below, plus some of the main Betfair Chase trends and stats. Once you know the final Betfair Chase runners, use these trends to help find the best profiles of past winners, which will also help when placing bets in the Betfair Chase betting markets.

Recent Betfair Chase Winners:

  • 2020 – Bristol De Mai (7/2)
  • 2019 – Lostintranslation (5/4 fav)
  • 2018 – Bristol De Mai (13/2)
  • 2017 – Bristol De Mai (11/10 fav)
  • 2016 – Cue Card (15/8 fav)
  • 2015 – Cue Card (7/4)
  • 2014 – Silviniaco Conti (10/3)
  • 2013 – Cue Card (9/1)
  • 2012 – Silviniaco Conti (7/4)
  • 2011 – Kauto Star (6/1)
  • 2010 – Imperial Commander (10/11 fav)
  • 2009 – Kauto Star (4/6 fav)
  • 2008 – Snoopy Loopy (33/1)
  • 2007 – Kauto Star (4/5 fav)
  • 2006 – Kauto Star (11/10 fav)
  • 2005 – Kingscliff (8/1)

Key Betfair Chase Betting Trends:

  • 16 Previous runnings
  • 13/16  – Won over at least 3m (fences) previously
  • 12/16 – Raced within the last 4 weeks
  • 12/16 – Won by an Irish (3) or French (9) bred horse
  • 12/16 – Placed in the top three in their last race
  • 12/16 – Won a Grade One chase previously
  • 11/16 – Raced at Haydock previously
  • 10/16 – Officially rating of 168 or higher
  • 10/16 – Favourites placed
  • 8/16 – Aged 8 or older
  • 8/16 – Winning distance – 2 ½ lengths or less
  • 7/16 – Raced at Wetherby in the Charlie Hall last time out
  • 7/16 – Won by a previous winner of the race
  • 7/16 – Winning favourites
  • 6/16 – Won their latest race
  • 4/16 – Raced at Aintree last time out
  • The average winning price in the last 16 runnings is 5/1
  • The Paul Nicholls yard has won the prize in 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012 & 2014
  • The Nigel Twiston-Davies yard has won the prize in 2010, 2017, 2018 and 2020
  • The Colin Tizzard yard has won the race in 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2019

Betfair Chase Bookmakers

You’ll be able to find the Betfair Chase betting odds with most of the main bookmakers.

However, with leading betting exchange and sportsbook – Betfair – sponsoring the Betfair Chase then they might have Betfair Chase betting odds a lot sooner than others.

Betfair Chase History

The Betfair Chase history dates back to 2005 when the first running of this Grade One chase was introduced to the horse racing calendar.

The first ever Haydock Betfair Chase winner was a horse called Kingscliff, who was trained by Robert Alner.

Since then many leading names of the National Hunt game have been winners of the Betfair Chase, with Kauto Star the most successful horse in Betfair Chase history with four wins.

Trainer Paul Nicholls also has a great Betfair Chase Haydock history – having saddled the Betfair Chase winner six times. Colin Tizzard has trained four Betfair Chase winners, including three of the last five, while Nigel Twiston-Davies has been responsible for three Betfair Chase winners since 2010.

18+ | Please play responsibly | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content