Cantala Stakes Horse Race

Last Updated 26 Jul 2021 | Commercial content | 18+

Commercial content | T&C apply | Please play responsibly | 18+

If you’re looking to learn about the Cantala Stakes Race, then you’ve come to the right place! Get all the details about one of Australia’s most popular thoroughbred races, including history, statistics and betting opportunities. We also provide information about the other major horse races in Flemington.

Race History

The Cantala Stakes Race was inaugurated back in 1881, making it one of Australia’s oldest and most celebrated races. While the event runs a distance of 1.600m (1 mile), the course was originally measured at 1.800m. The Cantala Stakes Race was a Principal Race until 1979 and then switched to Group 1.

Currently, the race is registered as a Victoria Racing Club Group 1 quality handicap Thoroughbred horse race. The race is run over 1.600 metres at the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne, Australia, as part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival. The race was recently moved from the last day at the Melbourne Cup Carnival to the first day, known as Victoria Derby Day.

Cantala Stakes Previous Names

The Cantala Stakes has had many different names over the years. Previous names include:

  • 1881–1918 – Coburg Stakes
  • 1919–1961 – Cantala Stakes
  • 1962–1984 – George Adams Handicap
  • 1985–1988 – Ampol Stakes
  • 1989–1992 – Honda Stakes
  • 1993–1995 – Nissan Stakes
  • 1996–1997 – Chrysler Stakes
  • 1998–2015 – Emirates Stakes
  • 2016 – Cantala Stakes
  • 2017–2018 – Kennedy Mile
  • 2019 – Kennedy Cantala Stakes

Cantala Stakes Winners

Notable winners of the race include: Fierce Impact (2019), Le Romain (2016), Boban (2013), All Silent (2008), Divine Madonna Planet Ruler (1992), Shaftesbury Avenue (1990), Better Loosen Up (1989), Family Of Man (1978), Storm Queen (1966).

Lindsay Park has had the most wins at the race with five wins in a row from 1992 to 1996. Other racers to have won the race multiple times are Seascay (1994/1995), Aquanita (1960/1961), Amounis (1926/1929) and Iolaire (1907/1908)

The current 2020 Champion is Yulong Prince from Cascadian and Rock, trained by the legendary Chris Waller.

Barrier Draw Statistics

Which barrier a horse starts from can impact its chances of winning the race. This is why the field barrier draw for the Cantala Stakes can make or break a horse’s chance. In the past 30 years, the most wins for the race have come from barrier 1. On the other hand, barriers 6, 11, 14 and 13 have seen the lowest number of wins.

Cantala Stakes Winners by Barrier

The table below provides statistics for each barrier since 1983:

Barrier Wins
1 6
2 3
3 2
4 2
5 2
6 1
7 2
8 4
9 4
10 3
11 1
12 3
13 1
15 1
15 2
16 2

Form Indicators

Contenders for the race come through several lead-up races, mainly featuring 1.400-1.600m black-type races in Melbourne. Some popular Group 1 races to look out for include: Makybe Diva Stakes, Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and the Toorak Handicaps.


For answers to commonly asked questions regarding the Cantala Stakes Race, see our FAQ section below:

How much prize money is in the Cantala Stakes?

The 2020 purse for the horse racing event was 1.5 Million AUD. This was down from previous years and is expected to pick up again in 2021.

How long is the Cantala Stakes

The race is 1.600m which is roughly one mile. Previous iterations of the race have been 1.800-2.000m.

How does Cantala betting work?

A wide range of betting opportunities is available with the Cantala Stakes, including straight winners and exotic bets. Odds for the race will be released a few months in advance.

Learn more about other Group 1 races in Flemington, Melbourne

If you are looking for other group 1 horse races in Flemington racecourse, read the pages listed below to get more information.

+18 Please play responsibly gamblinghelponline