Melbourne Cup Field Down to 34

Last Updated 25 Oct 2022 | Commercial content | 18+
Melbourne Cup Field Down to 34

(© imago images) RACING MELBOURNE CUP, Racegoers are seen arriving on Melbourne Cup Day, at Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Tuesday, November 2, 2021.

After another declaration stage for the 2022 Melbourne Cup, the field is now down to 34 runners. As the countdown continues, there’s now only a week to go until we see the Race That Stops the Nation.

No Huge Surprises in Defections

Of the horses to have been taken out of the field, there aren’t too many shocks.

The top four; Durston, Lunar Flare, Point Nepean and Deauville Legend, all have ballot exemption. They remain in contention for the race.

Those to have previously been in the top 24 in the order of entry but have now dropped out include Le Don De Vie of Maher and Eustace, as well as their Person. Chris Waller’s Great House has also dropped out along with Michael Moroney’s Verve Not Nerve.

The field is now only oversubscribed by ten horses. The final declarations are made on Saturday, along with the barrier draw.

Order of Entry After Latest Declaration Stage

After more horses dropped out at the latest stage, 34 are now left in the Melbourne Cup. Only 24 can make it to the barrier draw this Saturday, so the higher up the list, the better.

  1. Durston (Chris Waller)
  2. Lunar Flare (Grahame Begg)
  3. Point Nepean (Robert Hickmott)
  4. Deauville Legend (James Ferguson)
  5. Gold Trip (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
  6. Duais (Edward Cummings)
  7. Montefelia (David Payne)
  8. Hoo Ya Mal (Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott)
  9. Knights Order (Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott)
  10.   Loft (Marcel Weiss)
  11.   Without A Fight (Simon & Ed Crisford)
  12.   Numerian (Annabel Neasham)
  13.   Camorra (Ben & JD Hayes)
  14.   Alegron (James Cummings)
  15.   Stockman (Joseph Pride)
  16.   Young Werther (Danny O’Brien)
  17.   Vow And Declare (Danny O’Brien)
  18.   Grand Promenade (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
  19.   Tralee Rose (Symon Wilde)
  20.   Daqiansweet Junior (Phillip Stokes)
  21.   Arapaho (Bjorn Baker)
  22.   Crystal Pegasus (Chris Waller)
  23.   Smokin’ Romans (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
  24.   Emissary (Michael Moroney)
  25.   Realm Of Flowers (Anthony & Sam Freedman)
  26.   Interpretation (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
  27.   Makram (Ben & JD Hayes)
  28.   King Of The Castle (Robert Hickmott)
  29.   Serpentine (Robert Hickmott)
  30.   Chapada (Michael Moroney)
  31.   San Huberto (Matt Cumani)
  32.   Harmysian (Clayton Douglas)
  33.   High Emocean (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
  34.   Schabau (Robert Hickmott)

This is big news for connections of Emissary. As we reported, the impressive recent Geelong Cup winner was not guaranteed a run having received only a 0.5kg penalty. Now, that light weight could be a real blessing as he sits 24th in the order of entry and into the field as it stands.

In the safety of 11th place in the order is Simon & Ed Crisford’s Without A Fight. The Englishmen have been talking up their horse this week. It seems he may well have gone somewhat under the radar thus far.

Read more news about the Melbourne Cup.

18+ | Please play responsibly | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content