VRC Sprint Classic Horse Race

Last Updated 3 days ago | Commercial content | 18+

Commercial content | T&C apply | Please play responsibly | 18+

Saturday, November 4th 2021 sees the latest running of the Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic race. The Victoria Racing Club Sprint Classic is staged the same week as the Melbourne Cup, run only four days later at Flemington (more information about Group 1 horse races in Flemington).

This is the meeting at which horse racing reaches a peak in Australia, particularly in Melbourne. The VRC Sprint is one of the big races of the week and we have all the info you need about the 2021 renewal.

Race History

The Sprint Classic was inaugurated back in 1960 and was won on its first staging by Karina. Back then, the race was run on the opening day of the Carnival which was Victoria Derby Day.

While that was successful, it was altered in 2006 with the race being moved back by a week. It is now staged on the Saturday after the Melbourne Cup.

These days the race’s name is the VRC Sprint Classic or the Darley Sprint Classic. However, it has had other titles down the years owing to sponsorships and the like. Some of the names were Craven ‘A’ Stakes, the Salinger Stakes, the Age Classic and various other things.

At $2,000,000, this is one of the richest races on the calendar. In terms of sprints, it is only beaten in terms of prize money by the TJ Smith Stakes and The Everest.

Previous VRC Sprint Classic Winners

Various things make up a VRC Sprint Classic winner. Pace, ability and a soft field barrier draw all come in handy. Here are the last ten winners of this major speed test:

  • 2020 – Bivouac
  • 2019 – Nature Strip
  • 2018 – Santa Ana Lane
  • 2017 – Redzel
  • 2016 – Malaguerra
  • 2015 – Delectation
  • 2014 – Terravista
  • 2013 – Buffering
  • 2012 – Mental
  • 2011 – Black Caviar

Global Sprint Challenge

The VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington is the penultimate leg of the Global Sprint Challenge. The series started back in 2005 but has gone from strength to strength.
As of now, the Global Sprint Challenge races include the following:

  • Lightning Stakes – Flemington Racecourse, Australia.
  • Takamatsunomiya Kinen – Chukyo Racecourse, Japan.
  • Al Quoz Sprint – Meydan Racecourse, Dubai.
  • Chairman’s Sprint Prize – Sha Tin Racecourse, Hong Kong.
  • King’s Stand Stakes – Ascot Racecourse (Royal Ascot), England.
  • Diamond Jubilee Stakes – Ascot Racecourse (Royal Ascot), England.
  • July Cup – Newmarket Racecourse, England.
  • Sprinters Stakes – Nakayama Racecourse, Japan.
  • The Sprint Classic – Flemington Racecourse, Australia.
  • Hong Kong Sprint – Sha Tin Racecourse, Hong Kong.

How to Live Stream the 2021 VRC Sprint Classic

The quickest and easiest way to access a live stream of the VRC Sprint Classic race is via a good online bookmaker. Most major firms offer high-quality live streams, but check T&C’s before you join up.

Some bookies will simply want you to have a funded account before you watch. Others require you to bet in some small way before the stream becomes available.


All the important questions about the VRC Sprint Classic race answered.

When is the VRC Sprint Classic 2021?

The 2021 renewal is on Saturday, November 6th.

What is the prize money for the VRC Sprint Classic?

The Sprint Classic is worth a cool $2,000,000 in total to the field.

How long is the VRC Sprint Classic?

The VRC Sprint Classic is over 1200 metres. This equates to 6 furlongs, or ¾ of a mile.

+18 Please play responsibly gamblinghelponline