Coral Eclipse Betting 2022

Last Updated 1 week ago | Commercial content | 18+

Commercial content | T&C apply | Please play responsibly | 18+

The Coral-Eclipse Stakes is a Group One flat horse race that is staged at Sandown Park over a trip of 1m2f. The date for 2022 has not yet be confirmed but we will update you once it has been. 

Coral-Eclipse betting is always popular with horse racing fans as it gives one of the first chances of the new flat season for that year’s Classic generation (3 year-olds) to race against the older horses as the race is open to horses aged 3 or older – in recent years we’ve seen five of the last 19 Coral-Eclipse winners having run in that season’s Epsom Derby, with two horses winning both races in the same season.

If you need information about the famous horse racing events to bet on, read the page dedicated to horse racing betting.

Coral Eclipse at Sandown Park

Sandown Park, April 2015. Photo Credit: Carine06 / Flickr / CC BY 2.0

Coral Eclipse Odds

You can expect to see the Coral Eclipse odds in the ante-post sections of most of the leading bookmakers all-year-round.

However, the Coral Eclipse betting odds tend to hot-up after that season’s Epsom Derby has been run (early June) and also after the Royal Ascot Meeting each year, which is always held around the second/third week of June.

The average winning Coral-Eclipse odds over the last 19 years have been 9/2, so it’s generally a race that the punters get right – while 9 of the last 19 (47%) of Coral-Eclipe favourites have won during that time too.

Coral Eclipse Runners 2022

The Coral Eclipse runners can be aged 3 years old or older, so this race does lend itself to attracting past Coral Eclipse winners. Having said that, the last Coral Eclipse winner to successfully defend his title the following season was Halling (1995 and 1996).

The Coral Eclipse 2021 was won by St Mark’s Basilica. In 2020, Godolphin-owened Ghaiyyath won the race at Sandown Park. Although Ghaiyyath has since been retired, we could see St Mark’s Basilica come back to fight for his title in 2022.

Coral Eclipse Tips

You can expect to see a lot of Coral Eclipse tips online and in the newspapers in the build-up to the race.

In recent years, trainer John Gosden has saddled four of the last ten Coral Eclipse winners, while another key Coral Eclipse tip to note is that ALL of the winners since 1886 were aged 5 or younger.

However, with multiple Coral Eclipse winners to their names, trainers Aidan O’Brien, John Gosden or Sir Michael Stoute always figure highly as Coral-Eclipse tips in the build-up to the race.

The Coral Eclipse is a race steeped in history so over the years there are many Coral Eclipse betting trends that have also built up. These stats can also help when looking at the Coral Eclipse betting and when also finding out the final Coral Eclipse runners (2 days before the race).

In more recent times, some key Coral Eclipse trends to note are that ALL of the last 20 Coral Eclipse winners were aged 5 or younger, while 15 of the last 20 Coral Eclipse winners had previously won a Group One race and had raced at least twice that season – including 2020 Coral Eclipse winner – Ghaiyyath.

Eclipse Stakes Past Winners:

  • 2021 – St Mark’s Basilica
  • 2020 – Ghaiyyath (9/4 fav)
  • 2019 – Enable (4/6 fav)
  • 2018 – Roaring Lion (7/4 fav)
  • 2017 – Ulysses (8/1)
  • 2016 – Hawkbill (6/1)
  • 2015 – Golden Horn (4/9 fav)
  • 2014 – Mukhadram (14/1)
  • 2013 – Al Kazeem (15/8 fav)
  • 2012 – Nathaniel (7/2)
  • 2011 – So You Think (4/11 fav)
  • 2010 – Twice Over (13/8 fav)
  • 2009 – Sea The Stars (4/7 fav)
  • 2008 – Mount Nelson (7/2)
  • 2007 – Notnowcato (7/1)
  • 2006 –David Junior (9/4)
  • 2005 –Oratorio (12/1)
  • 2004 –Refuse To Bend (15/2)
  • 2003 –Falbrav (8/1)
  • 2002 – Hawk Wing (8/15 fav)

Eclipse Stakes Betting Trends:

We’ve compiled the most important betting trends over the last 19 years so you have a good idea of what to look for in the field for 2022.

  • 19/19 – Won by a horse aged 5 or younger
  • 15/19 – Had at least 2 runs already that season
  • 15/19 – Won by a previous Group One winner
  • 15/19 – Placed favourites
  • 14/19 – Placed in their last race
  • 13/19 – Raced between 2 and 3 times that season
  • 11/19 – Raced at Royal Ascot last time out (three won there)
  • 9/19 – Favourites that won
  • 5/19 – Won by an Irish-trained horse
  • 5/19 – Raced in the Epsom Derby that season
  • 4/19 – Trained by Aidan O’Brien
  • 4/19 – Trained by John Gosden (4 of last 9)
  • 6 of the last 14 winners won last time out
  • 2 of the last 11 Derby winners of that season went onto win the race
  • The last 6 year-old to win the race was in 1886
  • The average winning SP in the last 19 runnings is 9/2
  • 12 of out the last 15 winners had run in the previous 30 days
  • 11 out of the last 15 winners were Group 1 winners
  • 14 of the last 15 winners came from the first four in the betting
  • 13 out of the last 15 winners had won over 1m 2f or further
  • 13 of out the last 16 winners had run in the previous 30 days
  • 12 out of the last 16 winners were Group 1 winners
  • 15 of the last 16 winners came from the first four in the betting
  • 14 out of the last 16 winners had won over 1m 2f or further

Other Eclipse Stakes Trainer Facts:

  • Aidan O’Brien won the race in 2011, 2008, 2005, 2002 & 2000
  • Sir Michael Stoute won the race in 2007, 2001, 1997, 1994, 1993 & 2017
  • Godolphin-owned horses have won the race in 2004, 1998, 1996, 1995, 2016 & 2020
  • Trainer John Gosden has won 4 of the last 9 runnings

Coral Eclipse Bookmakers

Most leading bookmakers will have betting on the Coral Eclipse in their ante-post sections, while in the days before the race you can expect to see a lot more activity in Coral Eclipse betting.

The Coral Eclipse is sponsored by leading UK bookmaker Coral, who has supported the race since 1976 and remains one of the longest bookmaker associations with a horse race in the calendar. However, this bookmaker is not available to Australian punters. 

Coral Eclipse History

The Coral Eclipse history dates back to 1886, when the race was first run – with the first Coral Eclipse winner being a horse called Bendigo.

The race is named after a racehorse too – Eclipse – who was a very popular horse in the 18th century, but was never a past winner of the Coral Eclipse.

In more recent times we’ve seen some flat racing giants win the Coral Eclipse, including Ghaiyyath (2020), Enable (2019), Roaring Lion (2018), Golden Horn (2015) and Sea The Stars (2009) – the last two named were the most recent horses to win the Epsom Derby and the Coral Eclipse in the same season.

Trainer Sir Michael Stoute also has an excellent Coral Eclipse history – winning the race six times, so anything he runs should always be noted in the Coral Eclipse betting markets.

+18 Please play responsibly gamblinghelponline