2017 Melbourne Cup Results

Last Updated 30 Oct 2020 | Commercial content | 18+

Commercial content | T&C apply | Please play responsibly | 18+

The 2017 Melbourne Cup was the 157th running of the ‘race that stops a nation’ won by Rekindling and trained by Joseph O’Brien. The second place was taken by Johannes Vermeer followed by  Max Dynamite. The race was held on 7 November (public holiday) at Flemington Racecourse.

Melbourne Cup Results from 2017

122REKINDLING (GB)Joseph O’BrienCorey Brown51.5kg
27JOHANNES VERMEER (IRE)Aidan O’BrienBen Melham54.5kg
39MAX DYNAMITE (FR)William MullinsZac Purton54kg
413BIG DUKE (IRE)Darren WeirBrenton Avdulla53.5kg
518NAKEETA (GB)Iain JardineGlyn Schofield53kg
621THOMAS HOBSON (GB)William MullinsBen Allen (a)52kg
74TIBERIAN (FR)Alain CouetilOlivier Peslier55.5kg
817LIBRAN (IRE)Chris WallerDwayne Dunn53kg
95MARMELO (GB)Hughie MorrisonHugh Bowman55kg
1012WICKLOW BRAVE (GB)William MullinsStephen Baster54kg
116RED CARDINAL (IRE)Andreas WohlerKerrin McEvoy55kg
122ALMANDIN (GER)Robert HickmottFrankie Dettori56.5kg
1324CISMONTANE (NZ)Gai Waterhouse & Adrian BottBeau Mertens (a)50kg
1423AMELIE’S STARDarren WeirDean Yendall51kg
1515BOOM TIMEDavid & B Hayes & T DabernigCory Parish53kg (incl. 1.0kg penalty)
1620WALL OF FIRE (IRE)Hugo PalmerCraig Williams53kg
1719SINGLE GAZENick OliveMs Kathy O’Hara53kg
1814US ARMY RANGER (IRE)Joseph O’BrienJamie Spencer53.5kg
193HUMIDOR (NZ)Darren WeirBlake Shinn56kg
201HARTNELL (GB)James CummingsDamian Lane57.5kg
2110VENTURA STORM (IRE)David & B Hayes & T DabernigGlen Boss54kg
228BONDI BEACH (IRE)Robert HickmottMichael Walker54kg
2316GALLANTE (IRE)Robert HickmottMichael Dee53kg
11WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ)Chris WallerTommy Berry

Melbourne Cup 2017 – Quick Facts

  • Date: 7 November
  • Time: 3pm (EDST)
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse
  • Distance: 3200m
  • Prize Money: $6.25 million

Video of the 2017 Melbourne Cup (full race)

Melbourne Cup 2017 FAQ

Who won the Melbourne Cup in 2017?

The ‘race that stops a nation’ was won in 2017 by Rekindling.

Is there a female jockey in the Melbourne Cup?

The first female jockey to win the event was Michelle J. Payne an Australian jockey.

Who came second in the Melbourne Cup 2017?

The second place went to Johannes Vermeer trained by Aidan O’Brien.

You might also like…

+18 Please play responsibly gamblinghelponline