18+ | Please play responsibly | What’s gambling really costing you? | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content

2016 Melbourne Cup Results

The Melbourne Cup in 2016 was the 156th running of the ‘race that stops a nation’ held on the 1st November at Flemington Racecourse. The winner of the racecourse was Almandin a seven-year-old horse trained by Robert Hickmott. The race of 3200m was run in 3:20:58 with Almandin 1st, Heartbreak City 2nd and Hartnell 3td. Find out more about the Melbourne Cup results over the last years.

2016 Melbourne Cup Results

1st17Almandin Kerrin McEvoyRobert Hickmott52
2nd13Heartbreak CityJoao MoreiraTony Martin54
3rd6HartnellJames McDonaldJohn O’Shea56
4th23QewyCraig WilliamsCharlie Appleby51.5
5th7Who Shot ThebarmanHugh BowmanChris Waller56
6th9AlmoonqithMichael WalkerD & B Hayes & T Dabernig54.5
7t16Beautiful RomanceStephen BasterSaeed bin Suroor52.5
8th5ExosphericDamien OliverL & A Freedman56
9th22PentathlonMark Du PlessisJohn Wheeler51.5
10th1Big OrangeJamie SpencerMichael Bell57
11th11Grand MarshalBen MelhamChris Waller54.5
12th20OceanographerChad SchofieldCharlie Appleby52
13th4Bondi BeachRyan MooreAidan O’Brien56
14th19Grey LionGlen BossMatt Cumani52
15th12JamekaNick HallCiaron Maher54.5
16th15Excess KnowledgeVlad DuricG Waterhouse & A Bott53.5
17th2Our IvanhoweDwayne DunnL & A Freedman57
18th14Sir John HawkwoodBlack SpriggsJohn P Thompson54
19th18AssignKatelyn MallyonRobert Hickmott52
20th10GallanteBlake ShinnRobert Hickmott54.5
21st21Secret NumberStephen BasterSaeed bin Suroor52
22nd8Wicklow BraveFrankie DettoriWillie Mullins56
23rd3Curren MiroticTommy BerryOsamu Hirata56.5
24th24Rose Of VirginiaBen E ThompsonL & S Hope51

Melbourne Cup 2016 – Quick Facts

  • Date: 1st November
  • Time: 3pm (EDST)
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse
  • Distance: 3200m
  • Prize Money: $6.2 million

Video of the 2016 Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup 2016 FAQ

The Melbourne Cup 2016  was won by Almandin, trained by Robert Hickmott.

The oldest horse that won the Melbourne Cup was Catalogue (8 years old) in 1938.

Damien Oliver had the most success with 3 wins and 3-second places from 25 riders in the Melbourne Cup.

You can also have a look at the Melbourne Cup 2017 results or the results of the Melbourne Cup 2015.

18+ | Please play responsibly | What’s gambling really costing you? | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content