Melbourne Cup Results

Last Updated 2 days ago | Commercial content | 18+

Commercial content | T&C apply | Please play responsibly | 18+

If you are looking for the Melbourne Cup results, you have come to the right place. As soon as the Melbourne Cup 2019 finishes we will post an update so make sure to come back.

“The Race that Stops a Nation” is the pinnacle of Australian horse racing. Every first Tuesday in November the whole country grinds to a standstill in expectation of the Melbourne Cup wanting to see who will go down in the Melbourne Cup results history.

2019 Melbourne Cup results

The 2019 Melbourne Cup takes place on November 5th, 2019 at 3 PM local time. All those eager horse racing enthusiasts and punters will either be at the Flemington racetrack or locked to their TV screens to see who will become the 2019 Melbourne Cup winner and take the prize of $4,000,000 and the trophy worth more than $150,000.

Who will be victorious come November this year? Everyone is eager to know and so are we! We’ll post the results the second they go official so make sure to check back with us.

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey

2018 Melbourne Cup results

The winner of the 2018 Melbourne Cup was a four-year-old bay gelding, Cross Counter, owned by Godolphin. This was the first win for Godolphin in 20 years, and Cross Counter is currently the highest-ranked horse on the list of potential 2019 Cup winners. In 2018, he finished first with one-length advantage over Marmelo, and three lengths over Prince Of Arran, who placed third.

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Cross Counter Charlie Appleby Kerrin McEvoy
2nd Marmelo Hughie Morrison Hugh Bowman
3rd A Prince of Arran Charlie Fellows Michael Walker

2017 Melbourne Cup results

Rekindling took the win in 2017, having run an outstanding race and winning by just half a length. His trainer was Joseph O’Brien, the son of a world-renowned Irish trainer, Aidan O’Brien.

Johannes Vermeer, who was in the lead from the beginning, finished second, and Max Dynamite placed third. All top three horses were international, and Big Duke, the Australian Thoroughbred managed to finish in the fourth place.

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Rekindling Joseph O’Brien Corey Brown
2nd Johannes Vermeer Aidan O’Brien Ben Melham
3rd Max Dynamite William Mullins Zac Purton

2016 Melbourne Cup results

The winner of the 2016 Cup was Almandin, trained by Robert Hickmott. The six-year-old bay gelding’s jockey was Kerrin McEvoy, who managed to win the Cup first in 2000 with Brew, and then once again 16 years later with Almandin. Almandin’s win did not come as a surprise since he was dominant in two races leading up to the Melbourne Cup – The Bart Cummings and the Harry White Classic.  

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Almandin Robert Hickmott Kerrin McEvoy
2nd Heartbreak City Tony Martin Joao Moreira
3rd Hartnell John O’Shea James McDonald

2015 Melbourne Cup results

When it comes to the legendary Melbourne Cup results history, there is nothing quite like Prince of Penzance winning in 2015 at odds of 100/1. Prince of Penzance was ridden by Michelle Payne, who became the first female jockey to win the Cup. Max Dynamite, trained by William Mullins came second, and Criterion, an Australian Thoroughbred, finished third.

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Prince of Penzance Darren Weir Michelle Payne
2nd Max Dynamite William Mullins Frankie Dettori
3rd Criterion David & Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig Michael Walker

2014 Melbourne Cup results

The time ran by the 2014 Melbourne Cup winner, Protectionist, certainly goes down in the Melbourne Cup results history as one of the best race times ever achieved. He had the best running time in the last ten years (3:17:7) and is only one of a handful of horses to run under 3:20.0 in this century. His trainer, Andreas Wohler, became the first German trainer to win the Cup.

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Protectionist Andreas Wohler Ryan Moore
2nd Red Cadeaux Ed Dunlop Gerald Moose
3rd Who Shot Thebarman Chris Waller Glen Boss

2013 Melbourne Cup results

Fiorente, who was the runner-up in the previous Melbourne Cup, and Red Cadeaux, who was the second both in 2011 and 2014 battled for the first place in 2013. Trained by Gai Fiorente, he managed to win as he proved to be better prepared for the latter stages of the race. He was ridden by Damien Oliver, a legendary Australian jockey, who had previously ridden two Melbourne Cup winners – Doriemus in 1995, and Media Puzzle in 2002.

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Fiorente Gai Waterhouse Damien Oliver
2nd Red Cadeaux Ed Dunlop Gerald Moose
3rd Mount Athos Luca Cumani Craig Williams

2012 Melbourne Cup results

The 2012 winner, Green Moon, managed to win by a length and a half, ridden by Brett Prebble. He was not considered to be among top contenders to win because his performance in the Cox Plate, which took place ten days before the Cup, was rather unimpressive. Fiorente finished second, and Botti’s Jakkalberry third.

Finished Horse Trainer Jockey
1st Green Moon Robert Hickmott Brett Prebble
2nd Fiorente Gai Waterhouse James McDonald
3rd Jakkalberry Marco Botti Colm O’Donoghue


You might also like…

07. Jul 2020
23. May 2020
+18 Please play responsibly gamblinghelponline