18+ | Please play responsibly | What’s gambling really costing you? | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content

Final Declarations Near for 2022 Cup

Final Declarations Near for 2022 Cup
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 (© imago images) – RACING MELBOURNE CUP, Horses race past the post on the first lap of Race 7, the Melbourne Cup on Melbourne Cup Day at Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne.

Monday sees the fourth declaration phase for the 2022 Melbourne Cup. We’ll have news on that, while fast approaching is the final field announcement and barrier draw on Saturday, October 29.

Given recent results, the current order of entry makes for very fascinating reading.

Emissary Still Out Despite Geelong Cup Win

Emissary leapt into Melbourne Cup contention on Wednesday. Michael Moroney’s runner got the better of Surefire in the Geelong Cup as one former British-trained Juddmonte horse beat another.

Traditionally a good lead-up race, winning the Geelong Cup is a boost for Emissary’s team. The stewards however have hit the horse with a mere 0.5kg penalty for that win. That only moves the son of Kingman from 30th to 29th in the order of entry.

Moroney saddled Brew to a Melbourne Cup win in 2000. He knows his way around, but now needs to get Emissary a run. The Geelong Cup doesn’t provide ballot exemption.

Gold Trip Still a Possible Runner

While it’s perhaps not what Michael Moroney wants to hear, the Caulfield Cup runner-up Gold Trip is still a contender for the Cup. Trainer David Eustace intimated that he could still back up again following a busy period.

The six-year-old heads to the $5 million Cox Plate next. He could yet run in all three major carnival races. Three runs in 17 days is a lot, but Gold Trip’s team will be guided by the horse.

Gold Trip was just run down by Durston in the Caulfield Cup. As we reported, Michael Dee will be hoping to keep the ride but now Hong Kong-based jockey Zac Purton is in contention for him. Chris Waller has said that nothing has yet been decided on that front.

Gold Trip’s participation would be a good thing for the Cup overall. We should find out more about his well-being after this weekend.

Current Order of Entry

With the latest declarations stage and the final field announcement of 24 runners coming soon, here’s how the current order of entry looks.

1DurstonChris Waller
2Lunar FlareGrahame Begg
3Point NepeanRobert Hickmott
4Deauville LegendJames Ferguson
5Gold TripCiaron Maher & David Eustace
6DuaisEdward Cummings
7MontefeliaDavid Payne
8Hoo Ya MalGai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott
9Knights OrderGai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott
10LoftMarcel Weis
11Without A FightSimon & Ed Crisford
12NumerianAnnabel Neasham
13CamorraBen & JD Hayes
14AlegronJames Cummings
15StockmanJoseph Pride
16Young WertherDanny O’Brien
17Vow And DeclareDanny O’Brien
18Le Don De VieCiaron Maher & David Eustace
19PersanCiaron Maher & David Eustace
20Great HouseChris Waller
21Grand PromenadeCiaron Maher & David Eustace
22Tralee RoseSymon Wilde
23Daqiansweet JuniorPhillip Stokes
24Nerve Not VerveMichael Moroney
25ArapahoBjorn Baker
26Crystal PegasusChris Waller
27Midnight BlueDanny O’Brien
28Smokin’ RomansCiaron Maher & David Eustace
29EmissaryMichael Moroney
30Realm Of FlowersAnthony & Sam Freedman

Read more news about the Melbourne Cup.

Vauban Handed 55kg in Melbourne Cup Weights

St Leger Recap: Horses on Target for the Cup

Fewer British Entries Than Expected in Cup

Gary Christie
105 articles
For more than 20 years, Gary has been immersed in the worlds of sports writing and betting. As well as writing on the subjects of sports and horse racing, Gary has spent years privately handicapping horse races around the world in order to bet professionally. While having appeared on TV and spoken publicly at racecourses, Gary has a passion for writing. He produces articles every day for various territories including North America, UK, Europe and Australia.
Posted in NewsTagged
18+ | Please play responsibly | What’s gambling really costing you? | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content