18+ | Please play responsibly | What’s gambling really costing you? | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content

Victoria Derby Horse Race

The Victoria Derby Race is set to take place on the 30th of October this year, on the first day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival. If you’re looking for a one-stop shop for all the details on the race you’ve come to the right place. You can also click here to have more information about other group 1 races in Flemington.

Get info including past race results, statistics, race history and frequently asked questions in our full review below.

Race History

The Victoria Derby, also known as the AAMI Victoria Derby, was inaugurated back in 1885 as a 1½ mile thoroughbred race. Since then the race has been changed to a 2.500 metres.

The race is held at the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne, on the first day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, AAMI Victoria Derby Day.

Since 1979, the derby has been deemed a Victoria Racing Club Group 1 Thoroughbred horse racing event for three-year-olds under set weight conditions. There has only been one multiple-time winner, Fireworks, who won back-to-back in 1867 and again in 1868.

Clare Lindop, in 2008 became the first female jockey to win the Victoria Derby Race and was the first female to compete back in 2005.

The fastest time for the 2.500m version of the race is 2:33.60 by Star Of The Realm in 1991.

Victoria Derby Race Past Winners Results

Victoria Derby Race Winners Past 5 Years:

2020Johnny Get AngryLachlan King
2019WarningDamien Oliver
2018Extra BrutJohn Allen
2017Ace HighTye Angland
2016Prized IconGlyn Schofield

There have been a number of notable winners of the Victoria Derby Race over the years which include: Poseidon (1906), Nuffield (1938), Biplane (1917) and Manfred (1925).

The record most wins by a jockey at the derby is held by Bobbie Lewis at 8. The most wins by a trainer goes to James Scobie also held at 8.

Only three horses have managed to take the race on their debut appearance: Martini Henry in 1883, Fire Oak in 1990, Redding in 1992 and Preferment in 2014.

The current Victoria Derby Race Champion is Johnny Get Angry, ridden by jockey Lachlan King and trained by Denis Pagan.

Victoria Derby Horses

In general, Victoria Derby Race competitors consist of some of the top thoroughbred horses in the world. Horses must be 3 years of age and the set weights for colts/geldings is set at 55.5 kg and for fillies 53.5 kg.

Look for horses with good size and stamina to be favoured for the race given the 2500m course. The last stretch is considered the most critical part of the race, with acceleration on the back 200m required to take home the trophy.

Barrier Draw Statistics

In the recent past, field barrier draws for 5 and 6 have been the most successful. This is mainly attributed to the inside position given to these lanes. The only other two barriers to have any notable success are the 1 and 2 barriers. Each barrier has produced multiple winners in the past 20 years.

How is the Victoria Derby field decided?

Horses that compete at the derby will qualify from lead-up races such as the Caulfield Guineas, Caulfield Classic and the Moonee Valley Vase. Places are reserved for only the top 16.


Get answers to several commonly asked questions about the Victoria Derby Race in our FAQ section:

The 2023 Victoria Derby is set to take place on the 29th of October.

The race is 2.500m long on a left-handed racetrack.

The 20220 Victoria Derby Race winner was Johnny Get Angry, ridden by jockey Lachlan King.

Learn more about other Group 1 races in Flemington, Melbourne

If you are looking for other group 1 horse races in Flemington racecourse, read the pages listed below to get more information.

18+ | Please play responsibly | What’s gambling really costing you? | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content