Melbourne Cup Betting Trends

Last Updated 21 Nov 2022 | Commercial content | 18+

The Melbourne Cup in November 2020 was the 160th running of the race. Twilight Payment was the winner of this high-stakes racing event with odds of 25/1, and winning connections received $4.4 million in prize money and a trophy worth $250,000 from a total prize fund of $8 million (learn more about Melbourne Cup prize money). There were 24 runners and the race time was just over three minutes and 20 seconds. The race was marred by the fatal injury to Anthony Van Dyck. Here are some trends and past records that can help bettors to select the horses they think could win the Melbourne Cup 2021. For more information about betting, have a look at the information about Melbourne Cup betting, operators, odds and favourites.

The Melbourne Cup takes place at Flemington Racecourse in Caulfield, Australia on the first Tuesday of November each year. This year, the race will be run on Tuesday 2nd November 2021.

Here are the last 10 winners of the Melbourne Cup with the odds for each horse:

Year Horse Odds
2009 Shocking 9/1
2010 Americain 12/1
2011 Dunaden 15/2
2012 Green Moon 19/1
2013 Fiorente 13/2F
2014 Protectionist 7/1
2015 Prince Of Penzance 100/1
2016 Almandon 10/1
2017 Rekindling 15/1
2018 Cross Counter 11/1
2019 Vow And Declare 10/1
2020 Twilight Payment 25/1
  • The average odds of the winner: 25/1
  • Range of prices: 13/2 to 100/1.
  • The number of favourites: 1.
  • Odds on winners: 0.
  • Double figure odds winners: 6.
Melbourne Cup Betting Trends
Editorial credit: Kaspars Grinvalds /

Here are the major race trends ahead of the Melbourne Cup 2021. They could help you make your choice of which horses you think will win before you start betting.

For more information, do not forget to have a look at the Melbourne Cup favourite horses and Melbourne Cup favourite contenders and outsiders.


Below you’ll find the ages horses have been when they’ve won the Melbourne Cup race, and how many times a horse of each age has won.

Age Wins
Three 23 wins
Four 46 wins
Five 44 wins
Six 33 wins
Seven 11 wins
Eight 3 wins


Here are the four most common weights horses have been when they’ve won the Melbourne Cup.

Weight Wins
54.5kg 8 wins
53.5kg 7 wins
53kgs 7 wins
52.5kgs 7 wins


Over the last 20 years, five barriers have accounted for 2 wins each: 5, 10, 11, 14 and 22.


Below you will find numbers that have had the most winners assigned to them at the Melbourne Cup.

Saddlecloth Wins
4 11 wins
12 11 wins
1 10 wins
8 8 wins

Melbourne Cup Horses, Jockeys, Trainers And Owners

Here are the results and records from previous editions of this racing event to tide you over until the Melbourne Cup 2021:

The horse that has won the Melbourne Cup the most:

Makybe Diva with three Melbourne Cup wins in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

The jockeys that have won the Melbourne Cup the most:

Bobby Lewis (1902, 1915, 1919 and 1927) and Harry White (1974, 1975, 1978 and 1979) with four wins.

The jockeys that have won the Melbourne Cup in recent years:

Melbourne Cup Year Melbourne Cup Horse Melbourne Cup Jockey
2020 Twilight Payment Jye McNeil
2019 Vow And Declare Craig Williams
2018 Cross Counter Kerrin McEvoy
2017 Rekindling Michelle Payne
2016 Almandin Ryan Moore
2015 Prince of Penzance Damien Oliver
2014 Protectionist Brett Prebble
2013 Fiorente Christophe Lemaire
2012 Green Moon Gérald Mossé
2011 Americain Corey Brown

The trainer who has won the Melbourne Cup the most:

Bart Cummings with 12 Melbourne Cup wins (1965, 1966, 1967, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999 and 2008).

The trainers who have won the Melbourne Cup in recent years:

Melbourne Cup Year Melbourne Cup Horse Melbourne Cup Trainer
2020 Twilight Payment Joseph O’Brien
2019 Vow And Declare Danny O’Brien
2018 Cross Counter Charlie Appleby
2017 Rekindling Joseph O’Brien
2016 Almandin Rob Hickmott
2015 Prince of Penzance Darren Weir
2014 Protectionist Andreas Wohler
2013 Fiorente Gai Waterhouse
2012 Green Moon Rob Hickmott
2011 Americain Mikel Delzangles

The owner whose horses have won the Melbourne Cup the most:

Lloyd Williams’ horses have won this racing event the most, with 6 Melbourne Cup wins (1981, 1985, 2007, 2012, 2016 and 2017).

Who is most likely to win the Melbourne Cup 2021?

This year’s Melbourne Cup racing lineup is still unknown but after his performance last year, Tiger Moth will be one of the favourites to win should he take part in the race this year. There will most likely be more betting tips for those wanting to bet on which horse will win the Melbourne Cup once the final lineup has been announced.

What horse should I bet on for the Melbourne Cup 2021?

If you’re wanting to bet on the horse that will win the Melbourne Cup 2021, it is a good idea to take the betting trends listed above into consideration before placing your bet as well as the odds being offered by bookmakers. Once the final list of horses who will be running in the Melbourne Cup has been announced, this will help you get a clearer idea of which horse will be a good one to bet on.

What was the trifecta for the Melbourne Cup 2020?

The results of the Melbourne Cup 2020 Trifecta were:

  • 1st: No. 6: Twilight Payment
  • 2nd: No. 21: Tiger Moth
  • 3rd: No. 12: Prince of Arran

What is the final field for Melbourne Cup 2021?

The final field for this year’s edition of this high-stakes racing event has not yet been announced but we will provide the information once it has been released.

Melbourne Cup Barrier Melbourne Cup Horse
Barrier 1 TBA
Barrier 2 TBA
Barrier 3 TBA
Barrier 4 TBA
Barrier 5 TBA
Barrier 6 TBA
Barrier 7 TBA
Barrier 8 TBA
Barrier 9 TBA
Barrier 10 TBA
Barrier 11 TBA
Barrier 12 TBA
Barrier 13 TBA
Barrier 14 TBA
Barrier 15 TBA
Barrier 16 TBA
Barrier 17 TBA
Barrier 18 TBA
Barrier 19 TBA
Barrier 20 TBA
Barrier 21 TBA
Barrier 22 TBA
Barrier 23 TBA
Barrier 24 TBA

For more information on how to bet on the Melbourne Cup you can have a look at the following pages:

18+ | Please play responsibly | Terms and Conditions apply | Commercial content